Montgomery County Historical Society Montgomery County Historical Society
Dedicated to preserving and perpetuating the rich local history of the Montgomery County, Missouri area.

To collect, preserve and disseminate local history.
The Montgomery County Historical Society was organized as a Missouri not-for-profit corporation in 1976. It has Federal Sec. 501(c)(3) income tax status so that contributions can be claimed by a donor who itemizes deductions. The Society owns two adjoining buildings in the central business district of Montgomery City that house an extensive genealogical library and a museum of artifacts and antiques.
The Society has a modest endowment from donations and memorials. The principal source of income is dues and donations. Members pay annual or for life (one-time) dues. There are no paid employees or consultants, nor expense accounts for officers and board members.
graphic of group of people
A 12 person Board of Directors governs. Officers are elected for a two-year term which commenced April 2019. One director is elected from each of the County's six townships for a three-year term. Two at-large directors are elected by the Board for three year terms which commenced April 2019.
The buildings are shared with the Montgomery County Genealogy Society, an unincorporated association devoted to local family research. Their Board of Directors and officers are separate from the Historical Society. It meets monthly and its members open the library and museum on the second Tuesday morning of each month (March thru mid-December, weather permitting).
The Montgomery County Old Threshers Association, which puts on an annual show, also meets regularly at the Historical Society building.

Board of Directors
President: Mr. Douglas E. Dowling
Vice President: Ms. Sharon Sanker
Treasurer: Mr. Matthew G. Harris
Secretary: Ms. Chris Kroeger
Bear Creek Representative: Bonnie Begeman
Danville Representative: Ms. Ann Wilson
Loutre Township Representative: Mr. Burt Poehlman
Montgomery Representative: Mr. David A. Teeter
Prarie Township Representative: Mr. Jerry Oden
Upper Loutre Representative: Ms. Shirley J. Nation
Director: Jamie Hemeyer
Director: Mr. Tom O'Keefe
WebMaster: Web Master
graphic that says join usMembership
Dues and donations are our only income to fund collection and preservation efforts. Building maintenance is another expense. We are grateful for your support.